Slippers vs Stiletto’s.

21 07 2007

Comfortable slippers…we all have them. After a hard day at the office, there is nothing better than kicking of your shoes and sliding into a pair of well worn slippers. Feelings of AAAH, I’m home now, so I can relax and be just who I am. I don’t have to be the super efficient go-getter, the over-achiever, the corporate-ladder-climbing bitch that is required of you to earn your salary every month. I have had countless pair of slippers over the years. They become like old friends, each toe, each bump and indent on your feet has been molded into the soft inner sole. They make a distinctive sound when you shloff around on the tiled floor. Strangely enough, I (maybe others feel differently about it) will never wear my slippers when expecting company. It’s a part of my routine that is private. My relationship with my slippers is secure, comfortable and relaxed.

On the other hand…Stiletto’s. That pair of black leather, 4 inch high, pointy-toed, thin ankle strapped stiletto’s at the back of my cupboard beckon me whenever I reach in for something more “practical”. Only on high days and holidays do I get the opportunity to take those girls out and put them to good use. The routine goes something like this…a night out is planned. The day arrives. Soak in a hot bubble bath. Rub down with a nice rough towel to get the skin smooth. Moisturize from head to toe. Do the make-up. Do the hair. Slip into the little black number. Slide on the sheer, silky stockings and finally place feet slowly into shoes. Tighten straps. Stand up and stand tall. I feel like a different person, suddenly. I walk up straight, my stride is longer, I feel desirable, gorgeous, sexy, confidant. There is NOTHING that says sexy more than a confidant woman in a pair of stiletto’s. These shoes are not for the feint-hearted. I wear then for two, three hours, tops. By that time, my feet are really hurting. The shoes have squeezed, pinched and chaffed to the point of causing me real pain. But I like it. Once at home, I rub my feet, gingerly touching the blisters and swollen ankles. My slippers are a welcome relief.

Every REAL woman should have a pair of comfortable slippers and a pair of BITCHIN’ stiletto’s.

Actions

Information

21 responses

22 07 2007
Nossie

Oh come on….tell me about it. I know you want to…

22 07 2007
davidvanwyk

Well Nossie my uncle Abey, my Grandfather called him Abraham out of respect for the Jewish people who suffered at Hitler’s hand… I also have an Uncle Rommel out of respect for the military prowess of the ‘Desert Fox’, not to speak of Arthur, named for the American General Mac Arthur, and Uncle Pierre for the French General Pierre Lavall, etc. No one can blame my grandfather for not being impartial… Well to get back to Uncle Abey… his wife swore by her stilleto’s, and even when they went dancing when would arrive in her stilleto’s and change them for more comfortable shoes once on the floor. She was a fiesty woman who did not take kindly to Uncle Abey’s mind, eyes or attention straying. He, after a couple of drinks would become quite amorous and would try to charm whichever person of the opposite sex strayed into his personal space. This is where the stilleto’s would come into play… my aunt beating my my uncle on the head with the pointed heel of one of her stilleto’s.

22 07 2007
davidvanwyk

Stiletto’s David not Stilleto’s

22 07 2007
Nossie

LOL…every woman has her own particular use for her stoletto’s…I can just picture it…horny old bugger deserved what he got…I have a friend who wears hers while sweeping her patio..and it has NOTHING to do with the pool guy!! This freind was banned from wearing hers in the house as the heels pock-marked the wooden flooring so…she took the outside, much to the delight of a retired male neighbour. Me-thinks she enjoys the “pronking” too….

22 07 2007
Nossie

PS…where have you been for the past few weeks…too busy to chat with us????

22 07 2007
Nossie

Stiletto’s, Nossie, not Stoletto’s.

22 07 2007
Arbchick

Nossie – did you delete all your comments off this blog? Why?

22 07 2007
davidvanwyk

I’ve been chasing wind-pompe in the real world. The Platinum Corporations around Rustenburg and the last week in Malawi investigating an Ausie Uranium mining outfit called Paladin Resources.

22 07 2007
Nossie

Arbie..how can you say such a thing…I’m against ALL censorship. Don’t know what happened. But feel free to re-compose a comment. Look forward to your insightfull input.

22 07 2007
Nossie

I think we were all on the “housewife” post…

22 07 2007
Nossie

David, what’s happening with the proposed mining of the dunes on the Wild Coast? I grew up in that neck of the woods and have fond memories of those dunes..

22 07 2007
davidvanwyk

Richard Spoor recently met the activists from the area. I attended a workshop at Wits in February. A lot of fighting and intimidation seems to be happening there.

I still owe you some research on the battles of France. Hope to get round to it during this week.

22 07 2007
Nossie

Those big corps will rape any place to get their grubby hands on the goods. I suppose the locals are for it…hoping to get some pay-back? I have been approached by a collector of war medals who’s after the gongs my great uncle was awarded. I have them but he is trying his damdest to get me to sell them I think not.

22 07 2007
davidvanwyk

Never sell your heritage! The big corporations behave like psychopaths… what really gets me is that as corporate citizens they are supposed to be subject to the same laws as the rest of us… yet they keep on getting away with murder. They buy the politicians who always and very conveniently sell their constituencies down the corporate drain… Drain being the appropriate word after the corporates are finished with polluting an area.

Our planet is facing a real environmental disaster and so long as profits are more important than the rights of communities, the future of the environment and responsible conduct… we will never be able to address the multitude of problems confronting us.

22 07 2007
Nossie

All these things, in my humble opinion, relate back to poverty and lack of education in the communities affected. Its as simple as that, don’t you think? Or am I over-simplifying the problem?

22 07 2007
Nossie

From the sublime to the ridiculous…I have a friend who’s brother wears her stilleto’s on the QT…

22 07 2007
davidvanwyk

Everywhere we confront the corporations we find that there is an interplay between power and knowledge. The corporates are required by law to do Environmental Impact Assessments (EIAs) and as part of the process consult with communities. The law is at fauylt because no corporation will do an EIA that will undermine its chances at making a profit by exploiting the mineral resource. The corporations bring geologists, engineers, economists and all kinds of experts to the community consultations. The communities do not have the wealth or resources to afford their own independent experts. The corporations promise the communities, wealth, employment, infrastructure etc. All things which will never materialise. They never speak about the impact of mining on the communities such as loss of land, alcoholism, the break down of social and cultural norms, the impact on community health and safety. etc. The balance of knowledge and power therefor resides with the Corporation rather than with the community. Knowledge = Power = Might = Right.

23 07 2007
dolce

Y’all KNOW how I feel about a good shoe

*swwooooonnnn*

23 07 2007
Nossie

Eat your heart out, Dolce…I bought myself a pair of Jimmy Choo’s in Zurich a few years beack. Needless to say I have never worn them. Can’t get it over my heart to scuff the soles…such a waste I hear you say!!

23 07 2007
Nossie

BACK Nossie not BEACK, and no, those are NOT the stiletto’s to which I am refering…

23 07 2007
Nossie

David, is there Jewish blood running through your veins? I discovered, not long ago, that my great grandfather and grandfather were Jewish. My Dad was raised RC (he married an Irich RC). Also, to my surprise, I found out that one of my ancestors (Wronsky) was the Director of the Luftwaffe (much to Hitlers disgust) during the time of the Hindenberg disaster…

Leave a Reply

