How far do we go to find out from whence we come??

6 07 2007

Genealogy…I didn’t even know how to spell the word about 3 years ago! My journey began in 1992, two years before my dad passed away. We sat down with a large piece of paper at the dining room table. He had an amazing memory. It took us hours but eventually we had documented every member of our family that he could remember, their spouses, children, vocations, interesting tit-bits and a few scandalous stories. After he passed away, the sheet of paper lay in a file, forgotten for many years. Recently, I rediscovered it and decided that I had to take up the challange to “finish” the job. Little did I know how far, how much work, how much joy, sadness and frusrtation (not to mention the countless hours spent in front of this screen!!) this quest would demand of me. I have become firm friends family members who were but faceless names on a page, most of whom I had never met or spoken to. Needless to say, a good few skeletons and treasures have been unearthed in the process. I have even had thoughts of visiting a “medium” – wanting to “conatct” dad and tell him about my discoveries! Just as an example…I had NO idea that my paternal grandfather was Jewish! My dear cuz and comrade DM and I found his grave recently after much searching. Sadly, not too many people are interested in the past and the people who got us to where we are today. My family think I’m obsessed (or was that posessed??) but the journey is fascinating. The internet has been my friend and my foe but if all else fails, just pick up the phone and call that long lost aunt – you may be pleasantly surprised!

Actions

Information

3 responses

6 07 2007
nossie

Is there any kind, clever person out there who can tell me something about title deeds? I have found a property that is still registered in the name of someone who died in 1963! The property is listed as an asset in his last will and testment along with some others that were sold off years ago by the executors with the next of kin as beneficiaries. They were unmarried women at the time and a search on their maiden names has proved fruitless. Obviously they are now married – I have searched the records to no avail. Maybe they left the country. What to do? Any suggestions?

7 07 2007
nossie

To anyone who is vaguely intersted….tell me, if you had some information about your family history, would you pass it on to a family member who needed that info? I have discovered that an old aunt of mine is alive, aged about 86 and living in an old age home in the Krugersdorp area. But her children – yes, her CHILDREN, don’t know where she is and haven’t spoken to her in YEARS!! Those people should be arrested for something, don’t know what but their actions, or lack there of, IS nothing short of criminal!! How do they sleep with that kind of neglect on their conscience?? Now, how to track her down….shame, poor old girl…

9 07 2007
nossie

I have added a few links on the blogroll so that anyone can start searching…

Leave a Reply

